Catching up

It has been a little over 3 months since I’ve written a blog post.  I normally like to keep my posts centered around a theme and not time-sensitive.  So if you stumble onto the site and are going through an old post, it’s not about a past news event or relevant to a holiday or time of year.  But since it’s been so long, I figured I would compile some thoughts I’ve had and see if that turns into one post or a few.

Things have been very busy but also getting back onto the site and writing something new often feels like a big task I don’t feel like taking on just yet, like that pile of laundry that’s not going to wash itself.  I’ve had a lot going on at work, moved into a new house and my wife and I are expecting our first child.  So there’s a lot to do, a lot to prepare.  But through the hectic time, God’s been teaching us and drawing us closer to Him.

God’s provision and blessings:

I’ve seen God work and do powerful and amazing things while working in ministry or in sharing Christ with someone or counseling or doing something “spiritual” but I haven’t really seen that very much in my own life.  I guess I don’t bother to ask much.  I always pray for direction and wisdom and for God to reveal to me what to do so I can comply.  With the move into our new house, we had some decisions to make and some concerns.  And what was amazing was seeing God come through.  For me.  There were some big things, and even some little things.  It kind of blew me away, to think that God cared about the little things that I was worried about.  Sure, we talk about that in church and sing it in songs and even tell other people that He cares about every hair on your head, you are His child, etc.  But for me I never really applied that to my own personal life.

If I were trying to plant a church or put together a missions trip or send the youth to camp, I’d pray for and expect God’s provision.  But God has been teaching me that it’s just a spiritual to seek God’s provision and blessing in our own lives.  We are part of His church, part of His purpose.  And He has plans for us that include seeing His blessings.  Jesus said that He came so that we might have life more abundant, to have it to the full.  He didn’t say we’d be rich of course, but you know it’s way more exciting seeing God come through than if you were a billionaire and didn’t have to strive for anything.  Not that I’d turn down Zuckerberg money.  ;)

About Scott Phillips

"I have been crucified with Christ, and I no longer live, but Christ lives in me." Galatians 2:20 View all posts by Scott Phillips

One response to “Catching up

  • Helen

    Very good post. I always marvel at people when they say they don’t ever “bother” God with praying for small things cause he’s too busy with handling bigger problems. I pray for all things, even for an Eagle win! And it’s not just prayer….I like to just “talk” to him alot too. Talk as if you’re speaking to one of your friends.

Leave a Reply

